Latest Qualification Jobs

Check Your Email To Activate the Confirmation Link

Indian Air Force Ranks | IAF Ranks And Insignia – Selection Criteria & More

Indian Air Force Ranks

Structure of Royal Air Force determines Indian Air Force Ranks!! On 8th October, 1932 Indian Air Force was established and it is the air arm of the Indian Defence Services. It is established to protect the Indian Sky.

Here below the team of have provided IAF Ranks And Insignia – Selection Criteria & More. Have a look…

Indian Air Force Ranks

Equivalent IAF Ranks

  • Marshal of the Air Force
  • Air Chief Marshal
  • Air Marshal
  • Air Vice Marshal
  • Air Commodore
  • Group Captain
  • Wing Commander
  • Squadron Leader
  • Flight Lieutenant
  • Flying Officer

How to Make? Career in Airforce

Indian Air Force Rank Insignia

Indian Air Force Ranks

You Can Also Check: Latest Defence Jobs

Rank of Commissioned Officers of the Indian Air Force

Marshal of the Air Force

The highest rank in Indian Air Force is Marshal of the Air Force. This rank is an honorary war time rank which is also known as five-star rank. Not all the countries use this rank. The only Marshal of Indian Air Force was Arjan Singh, DFC.

Air Chief Marshal

After Marshal of the Air Force, Air Chief Marshal is the second highest rank in the Indian Air Force. It is marked with four stars that is the reason it is known as four-star rank. A professional head and the commander of the Indian Air Force is one and only Air Chief Marshal.

Air Marshal

Air Marshal is marked with three stars and is known as three-star rank in the Indian Air Force. This rank is held by the officers who typically hold very senior appointments of the formation.

Check Now: Daily Job Updates

Air Vice Marshal

Air vice Marshal is marked with two-star in the Indian Air Force.

Air Commodore

Air Commodore is the junior most rank in the star category and is marked with only one star. They act as direct support to air officer commanding.

Group Captain

It is a senior commissioned rank in the Indian Air Force which is equivalent to Colonel in the army.

Wing Commander

After Group Captain, Wing Commander is a senior commissioned rank.

Squadron Leader

It comes just after the rank of Wing Commander.

Flight Lieutenant

This rank comes after Squadron Leader and the officer of this rank can never be addressed as only “Lieutenant”.

Flying Officer

This rank is also commissioned rank and not only officers who fly an aircraft hold this rank. Sometimes ground duty officers or air crew officers also held this rank.

Grab Today: Latest 15000 Government Jobs

Junior Commissioned Officers of the Indian Air Force

Master Warrant Officer

Master Warrant Officer is designated by warrant. It is the highest rank in Junior commissioned officers.

Warrant Officer

It is the second highest rank in the junior commissioned rank.

Junior Warrant Officer

Usually a technical leader or specialist holds the rank of Junior Warrant Officer.

Check Now: Indian Air Force Salaries

Non-Commissioned Officers of the Indian Air Force


This is the rank just below the Junior Warrant Officer and is a non-commissioned rank.


It is a military rank which corresponds to commanding a section or squad of soldiers.

Leading Aircraftman

It is technically not a rank but it is a title given to Non-Commissioned Officers in the Air Force.


 It is the lowest of all ranks in the Indian Air Force.

IAF Selection Procedure

Physical Standards

To apply for Indian Air Force Recruitment, one must satisfy all the physical standards as it is the basic requirement.  We have provided some Physical Standards below which will be satisfy by the applying candidate. Have a look:

  • Good physical and mental health and free from any disease/ disability
  • There should be no evidence of weak constitution or bodily defects.
  • The height and weight standards for men and women differ. So height must be as per the norms.
  • Chest should be well developed. The minimum range of expansion after full inspiration should be 5 cm.
  • No disease of bones and joints of the body
  • Free of any past history of mental breakdown or fits
  • Hearing should be normal without any evidence of present or past disease of the ear, nose and throat.
  • No sign of functional or organic disease of the heart and blood vessels.

Below is the lost of deficiencies which the will entail rejection of women in Indian Air Force:

  • Acute or chronic pelvic infection.
  • Severe menorrhagia.
  • Severe dysmenorrhea.
  • Complete prolapse of uterus.
  • Pregnancy/ Amenorrhea.
  • Any other gynaecological condition, if so considered by the specialist.

Get Details Of: Physical Standards for Indian Armed Forces

Written Test

Written examination will be done for below programs:

AFCAT – Air Force Common Admission Test

Only candidates (other than NDA and CDSE) have to undergo the AFCAT. The test is conducted twice a year in February and September.

NCC entry

Air Sqn NCC Senior division ‘C’ certificate holders are to apply through DG NCC/ respective NCC Air Squadron. They would then appear for AFCAT.

Want to Know? Tips to Prepare for Written Exam

SSB (Services Selection Board) TESTING

After successful qualifying written examination, aspirants then will be called for the test which is mentioned below. Candidates will receive IAF Call letter to report to any one of the Air Force Selection Boards located at Dehradun, Varanasi, Gandhinagar and Mysore.

Stage 1 Testing

  • Officer Intelligence rating Test
  • Picture perception and Discussion Test

Stage 2 Testing

  • Psychological Tests are written tests that are conducted by a Psychologist.
  • Group Tests are interactive indoor and outdoor activities which are a combination of mental and physical work.
  • Interview involves a personal conversation with an Interviewing Officer.

Schedule for OLQ Tests

Day 1Phase I testing – Officers Intelligence Rating Test & Picture Perception and Discussion test
Day 2Group testsGroup testsGroup tests
Day 3Group testsGroup testsGroup tests
Day 4InterviewInterviewInterview
Day 5ConferenceConferenceConference
Day 6PABT*

Step 3 – Conduct Of Medical Examinations

After qualifying serving stage, shortlisted candidates then will be sent for the medical examination either at Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME), New Delhi or Institute of Aviation Medicine, Bengaluru.

Step 4 – Preparing All India Merit List

At last Indian Air Force Authority prepares An All India Merit List which is based on your performance in the written test and AFSB interview.

You May Go Through Below Given Articles, To Prepare Well For Interview:

Final Words:

We hope that you are satisfied with Indian Air Force Ranks provided on this page. You can subscribe to our free mail services to know more of IAF Ranks And Insignia.

Something That You Should Put An Eye On

Indian Air Force Cut OffIndian Air Force Result
IAF Group C RecruitmentIAF Commissioned Officer Jobs
HQ Western Air Command RecruitmentIndian Air Force Syllabus
Career in Indian Armed ForcesIndian Air Force vs Pakistan Air Force
Defence Current AffairsEmployment News This Week

Filed in: Air Force, Army, Articles Tags: 

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment