Latest Qualification Jobs

Check Your Email To Activate the Confirmation Link


List of Current Governors in India – Governors of States with Capitals

List of Current Governors in India

We are providing the list of current Governors in India, Governors of every state and every union territory of India for the examination purpose because questions about Current Governor in India, Current Governors of states with capitals may be asked in many interviews and competitive exams conducting for several Government jobs. India is country of 29 states and 7 union Territories and for every state a Governor is appointed by the President of the country for a term of five years. Governor is the constitutional head of each of the 29 states and all its executive actions are taken in the Governor’s name.

The state Governor also performs as a representative of the State Government. Governors of states have the same functions and power as that of the President of India, but at the state level. The Governors have Discretionary, Legislative and Executive powers but does not have any political and military powers. The updated list of the Current Governors in India is available below by the team of

List of Current Governors in India

List of Current Governors of States with Capitals

The list of Current Governors in India with capitals is mentioned according to the respective state in the table:

Andhra PradeshHyderabadE. S. L. Narasimhan
Arunachal PradeshItanagarPadmanabha Acharya
AssamDispurBanwarilal Purohit
BiharPatnaKeshari Nath Tripathi
ChhattisgarhRaipurBalram Das Tandon
GoaPanajiMridula Sinha
GujaratGandhinagarOm Prakash Kohli
HaryanaChandigarhKaptan Singh Solanki
Himachal PradeshShimlaAcharya Dev Vrat
Jammu and KashmirSrinagar (Summer), Jammu (Winter)Narinder Nath Vohra
JharkhandRanchiDraupadi Murmu
KarnatakaBangaloreVajubhai Vala
KeralaThiruvananthapuramP. Sathasivam
Madhya PradeshBhopalOm Prakash Kohli
MaharashtraMumbaiC. Vidyasagar Rao
ManipurImphalNajma Heptulla
MeghalayaShillongBanwarilal Purohit
MizoramAizawlNirbhay Sharma
NagalanKohimaPadmanabha Acharya
OdishaBhubaneshwarS. C. Jamir
PunjabChandigarhV. P. Singh Badnore
RajasthanJaipurKalyan Singh
SikkimGangtokShriniwas Patil
Tamil NaduChennaiC. Vidyasagar Rao
TelanganaHyderabadE. S. L. Narasimhan
TripuraAgartalaTathagata Roy
Uttar PradeshLucknowRam Naik
UttarakhandDehradunKrishan Kant Paul
West BengalKolkataKeshari Nath Tripathi

You may Like to Read: List Of Prime Ministers Of India

List of Current Lieutenant Governor and Administrators of Union Territories

The name of Lieutenant Governors, Administrators and capitals are given according to the respective Union Territory in the table:

Union TerritoryCapitalNamePosition
Andaman and Nicobar IslandsPort BlairJagdish MukhiLieutenant Governor
ChandigarhChandigarhV. P. Singh BadnoreAdministrator
Dadra and Nagar HaveliSilvassaPraful Khoda PatelAdministrator
Daman and DiuDamanPraful Khoda PatelAdministrator
DelhiDelhiAnil BaijalLieutenant Governor
LakshadweepKavarattiFarooq KhanAdministrator
PuducherryPuducherryKiran BediLieutenant Governor

 Check Here: List of Chief Ministers in India

The lieutenant governor is appointed by President of India only for three territories i.e. Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Delhi and Puducherry. Other territories like Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep have an administrator appointed, who is an IAS officer.

We hope that the information we provided you in the above list i.e. List of Current Governors in India which includes Governors of States and Union Territories will be helpful to you. Stay connected with us for time to time updates and you can also follow us on Google plus, Twitter and Facebook to acquire more recent news.

Something That You Should Put An Eye On

Latest Current Affairs UpdatesCurrent Members of Parliament of India
Latest President of IndiaList of Vice Presidents of India
Prime Minister Of India ListVice President of India
List of Indian PresidentsCabinet Ministers of India

Filed in: Articles, Current Affairs, Latest GK Tags: 

Upload Resume & Get Interview Call In 24 Hours


One Response to "List of Current Governors in India – Governors of States with Capitals"

  1. Mayank Namdev

    i’ll give my best for your company

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment