Latest Qualification Jobs

Boundaries Of India | भारत की सीमाओं के नाम, सटे देश – Total Land Borders

Boundaries Of India

India is the seventh country in the world in terms of area and is the only country in the world that shares its land borders with each member country of the subcontinent. India borders Afghanistan and Pakistan in the northwest; China, Bhutan and Nepal to the north; Myanmar in the Far East and Bangladesh in the east.

Here, we are giving a list of Boundaries Of India for students who are preparing for general awareness. You can also check भारत की सीमाओं के नाम, सटे देश – Total Land Borders Details from below section of this page.

Today, we will discuss some important questions of GK, which are always asked in competitive exam. You must read about details on Boundaries Of India, which will be very helpful from the point of view of your competitive exam.

India’s terrestrial border total length 15,200 km and the length of the beach is 7517 km with which the boundaries of seven countries form. India’s terrestrial and aquatic border borders 8 countries.

In terms of area, our country is the world’s seventh and the largest country in South Asia. Its borders come from 7 countries. Questions related to this are asked in many competitive examinations. Let us give you information related to the Borders of our country, which will also help us in understanding the geographical location of our country.

Boundaries Of India

The days of the border between India and Pakistan are seen to be fierce, many wars have also been fought between the two countries over the border dispute, in which thousands of millions of soldiers have been martyred. However, the borders of all India’s neighboring countries do not require strong security like Pakistan.

In some neighboring countries, you can enter without a visa passport. As far as the country bordering India’s waters is concerned, the first name comes from Sri Lanka, followed by Bangladesh, Pakistan and Myanmar also share the waters. How many countries meet India’s border

Countries which share border with India are:

1Afghanistan80Shortest land border with India. J&K (PoK) shares border with Afghanistan (it forms only about 0.52% of the total land border of India)
2Bhutan587Indian States sharing border with Bhutan are West Bengal, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh and Assam.
3Myanmar (formerly Burma)1458Indian states which share border with Myanmar – Mizoram, Manipur, Nagaland and Arunachal Pradesh.
4Nepal1752Indian states which share border with Nepal – Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal and Sikkim
5Pakistan3310Indian States which share boundary with Pakistan – Gujarat, Rajasthan, Punjab and J&K (about 22% of India’s total land border)
6China3917A very significant length of border sharing. 5 Indian states which share border with China – J&K, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh (about 26% of India’s total land border)
7Bangladesh4096Longest land border with India (about 27% of India’s total land border). States which share border with Bangladesh – West Bengal, Assam, Tripura, Mizoram, and Meghalaya.
Total Land Boundary of India152
Sri Lanka (Maritime Boundary with India)30
India and Sri Lanka share a maritime boundary, and are separated by the Palk Strait. Nearest points: India – Dhanushkodi in Tamil Nadu; Sri Lanka – Talai Mannar in Jaffna.

Check Here: List of Important Temples in India

List Of India’s Neighbouring Countries

Neighbouring CountryBordering States
AfghanistanJammu and Kashmir
BangladeshWest Bengal, Mizoram, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Assam
BhutanArunachal Pradesh, Assam, Sikkim, and West Bengal
ChinaJammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Uttrakhand, Sikkim, and Arunachal Pradesh
MyanmarArunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, and Nagaland
NepalSikkim, West Bengal, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, and Uttrakhand
PakistanJammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Gujarat, and Rajasthan

FAQ’s Related to Boundaries Of India

Ques: What are the boundaries of our country?

Ans: India shares borders with several sovereign countries; it shares land borders with Afghanistan (de jure), China, Bhutan, Nepal and Pakistan in the north or north-west, and Bangladesh and Myanmar in the east. India also shares water borders with Sri Lanka and Maldives.

Must Know: List of International Airports in India

Ques: How many countries touch boundaries with India?

Ans: A border line is a dividing line that marks the territorial limits between two countries. Our country India shares land borders with seven countries including Bhutan, Bangladesh, China, Afghanistan, Myanmar, Nepal, and Pakistan and maritime borders with Sri Lanka, Maldives and Indonesia.

Ques: How many countries share water boundaries with India?

Ans: India shares its border with seven countries- Afghanistan and Pakistan to the North-West, China, Bhutan and Nepal to the north, Myanmar to the far East and Bangladesh to the east. Sri Lanka (from the south-east) and Maldives (from the south-west) are two countries with water borders.

Ques: Which state in India has no river?

Ans: The state with the least no of rivers is Nagaland, with only 3 rivers. However if you count Union territories also, then its Chandigarh, where there are no rivers.

Ques: Which country shares the smallest border with India?

Ans: Afghanistan shares only about 106 km border with India. According to the official map of India, Afghanistan shares the shortest border with India which is about 106 km.

You Can Also Check: List of Research Centers in India

Ques: With which country India shares longest border?

Ans: India shares longest border with the following countries:

  • Bangladesh: 4,096.7.
  • China: 3,488.
  • Pakistan: 3,323.
  • Nepal: 1,751.
  • Myanmar: 1,643.
  • Bhutan: 699.
  • Afghanistan: 106.
  • Total: 15,106.7

You can see in the above list that Bangladesh has the highest terrestrial border of India. The length of which is 4096 kilometers, after which its border meets other 6 countries in decreasing order, you will easily remember this trick.

So now you must have known that how many countries meet the border of India, let us tell you that the border with Pakistan, China and Bangladesh is closely monitored in the neighboring countries of India.

Whereas in Nepal, Bhutan and Myanmar borders, locals can cross each other’s borders without passports and visas. Myanmar is bordered by Indian states such as Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram and Manipur.

India shares a 1643-km border with Myanmar despite both being fairly good neighbors. So, Stay connected with our web portal for more related to it.

Something That You Should Put an Eye On

List of Financial Institutions in IndiaList of 10 Highest Waterfalls in India
List of Highest Mountain Peaks in India List of Major Ports in India
Languages of IndiaFirst in the World GK 
Hydro Power Plants in IndiaList of Nuclear Power Plants in India

Excel Your Preparation with Vidya24.Com - Enroll Today For Free

Filed in: Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© 1667 Recruitment result 2021. All rights reserved.