Latest Qualification Jobs

Indian Railway Network | Length in KM State Wise List – Zones and Divisions

Indian Railway Network

The world’s fourth largest railway network is Indian Railways that consists of maximum 1.23 million employees and is operated by the Ministry of Railways. Almost 2000 passenger trains are run daily by the Indian Railways. The train is routing on both suburban and long-distance routes. The government has done a commitment that till 2023, railway electrification of the Indian Railway Network will be done and till 2030, it will become a “net-zero railway”.

Overview on Indian Railways

IndustryRail transport
Founded8 May 1845
HeadquartersNew Delhi, India
Area servedIndia
Minister of RailwaysPiyush Goyal
Minister of State for RailwaysSuresh Angadi
Chairman, Railway BoardVinod Kumar Yadav
  • Passenger railways
  • Freight services
  • Parcel carrier
  • Catering and tourism services
  • Parking lot operations
  • Other related services
OwnerGovernment of India (100%)
Number of employees1.23 million (2019)
ParentMinistry of Railways
Divisions18 zones

Get Here: IRCTC Full Form

Indian Railway Network

Zones and Divisions Of Indian Railways

The operation carried out in Indian Railways is divided into zones and the ZONES are further subdivided into DIVISIONS. Every division is headed by Divisional Railway Manager (DRM), after that DRM reports to the General Manager (GM) of respective zone.

The appointment of DRM is done by Indian Railways for maximum 3 years of tenure but if recommendation is given by Railway Board, then this tenure can be exceed. Any of the following organized services of Indian Railways can do appointment of DRM:

  • Indian Railway Traffic Service (IRTS),
  • Indian Railway Accounts Service (IRAS),
  • Indian Railway Personnel Service (IRPS),
  • Indian Railway Service of Engineers (IRSE),
  • Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME),
  • Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers (IRSEE),
  • Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers (IRSSE)
  • Indian Railway Stores Service (IRSS)

List of Zones and its Divisions:

In total, there are 18 zones and 73 divisions. The newest zone in India is the South Coast Railway zone.

Railway ZoneZone HeadquartersRailway Divisions
Central Railway (CR)Mumbai CSMTMumbai,Bhusawal,
Pune,Solapur, Nagpur CR
Northern Railway (NR)DelhiDelhi,Ambala,Firozpur,
Lucknow NR,Moradabad
North Eastern Railway (NER)GorakhpurIzzatnagar, Lucknow
NER, Varanasi
Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR)GuwahatiAlipurduar, Katihar,
Rangiya, Lumding,
Eastern Railway (ER)Fairley Place,
Howrah, Sealdah,
Asansol, Malda
South Eastern Railway (SER)Garden Reach,
Adra, Chakradharpur,
Kharagpur, Ranchi
South Central Railway (SCR)SecunderabadSecunderabad, Hyderabad,
Southern Railway (SR)Chennai CentralChennai, Tiruchirappalli,
Madurai, Palakkad, Salem,
Western Railway (WR)Mumbai (Churchgate)Mumbai WR, Ratlam,
Ahmedabad, Rajkot,
Bhavnagar, Vadodara
South Western Railway (SWR)HubballiHubballi, Bengaluru, Mysuru
North Western Railway (NWR)JaipurJaipur, Ajmer,
Bikaner, Jodhpur
West Central Railway (WCR)JabalpurJabalpur, Bhopal, Kota
North Central Railway (NCR)PrayagrajPrayagraj, Agra, Jhansi
South East Central Railway (SECR)BilaspurBilaspur, Raipur, Nagpur SEC
East Coast Railway (ECoR)BhubaneswarKhurda Road, Sambalpur,
East Central Railway (ECR)HajipurDanapur, Dhanbad,
Pt Deen Dayal Upadhyaya,
Samastipur, Sonpur
Metro Railway (MTP)Park Street, KolkataLine 1, Line 2

Know Here: What is the full form of RRB NTPC

Length in KM Zone Wise List:

Here, below route length in Km is given:

Zone CodeOperational Statistics
Route length
Number of
Passenger Carried

Departments and Services of the Indian Railways:

A division has employee strength of about 15,000 all the services of Indian Railways are presented in a Division.

1) The Departments represented in a division are as:

Name of DepartmentHeaded by
Engineering DepartmentSenior Divisional Engineer
Mechanical Engineering DepartmentSenior Divisional Mechanical Engineer
Electrical Engineering Department (General)Senior Divisional Electrical Engineer
Electrical Engineering Department (Traction Distribution)Senior Divisional Electrical Engineer
Electrical Engineering Department (Operations)Senior Divisional Electrical Engineer
Signal & Telecommunication Engineering DepartmentSenior Divisional Signal & Telecommunication Engineer
Operating and Traffic (Transportation) DepartmentSenior Divisional Operations Manager
Commercial DepartmentSenior Divisional Commercial Manager
Medical DepartmentChief Medical Superintendent
Safety DepartmentSenior Divisional Safety Officer
Stores DepartmentSenior Divisional Material Manager
Accounts DepartmentSenior Divisional Finance Manager
Personnel DepartmentSenior Divisional Personnel Officer
Security DepartmentSenior Divisional Security Commissioner
Managing DepartmentDivisional Railway Manager

Read About: First in the World GK

2) Control Room:

Every division has a control room for carrying all the train operations. All the trains are controlled and monitored in this division.

3) Locomotive Sheds:

The Diesel and Electronic Locomotive Sheds in the division maintain the diesel and electric locomotives.

4) Accident Relief Trains:

In case of any disaster management situation, every division has Accident Relief Trains (ARTs), Accident Relief Medical Vans (ARMVs) and Breakdown Cranes.

All the details about Indian Railway Network are well explained on this page with the current stats. Visitors of this page can bookmark our site for more similar updates.

Something You Should Put An Eye On

Hydro Power Plants in India List of Nuclear Power Plants in India
Average Rainfall in IndiaList of National Parks in India
Longest National Highways of India Major Dams in India
Bharat Ratna AwardIndian States Capitals and CM

Excel Your Preparation with Vidya24.Com - Enroll Today For Free

Filed in: Articles

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© Recruitment result 2021. All rights reserved.