Latest Qualification Jobs

Full form of SAARC | Headquarters – सार्क का पूरा नाम/ज़रूरी जानकारियाँ

SAARC Full Form

The Full form of SAARC is South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. The establishment of SAARC was done to promote cultural and economic growth to the people living in South Asia. 8 member states comprises in it whose details are given in the below section of this page along with the information related to its headquarters, SAARC Full Form and other necessary details.

SAARC Full Form

  • SAARC Full Form in English: South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation
  • सार्क का पूरा नाम इन हिंदी: दक्षिण एशियाई क्षेत्रीय सहयोग संगठन

सार्क का पूरा नाम एवं उससे जुडी ज़रूरी जानकारियाँ हम इस पेज के माध्यम से बताने जा रहे है| सार्क सात देशो का एक संगठन है जिसका निर्माण आठ दिसंबर १९८५ को हुआ था| सार्क से जुड़े राष्ट्राध्यक्ष हर साल बैठक करते हैं और देश के विकास को लेकर महत्वपूर्ण निर्णय करते है|  तो आइये विस्तार से पढ़ते है इनके बारे में-

Overview of SAARC:

HeadquartersKathmandu, Nepal
Official languagesEnglish
Demonym(s)South Asian
Member states8 members and 9 observers
Secretary-General Esala Ruwan Weerakoon (3 March 2020 – present)
Establishment8 December 1985

Check Out: What is the full form of BRICS?

SAARC History:

  • June 3, 1905: In Colombo, Sri Lanka, Foreign ministry officials of Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka met up.
  • 1983: Adoption of the Declaration on South Asian Association Regional Coopoeration (SAARC) was accepted by India and foreign ministers of seven countries.
  • 1985: After its approval, in Dhaka, Bangladesh first summit takes place.
  • 2004: South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA) was signed up.
  • 2007: Afghanistan was included as the member of SAARC.
  • 2009: Australia, China, the EU, Iran, Japan, Mauritius, Myanmar, South Korea, and the United States were considered as the observers of SAARC.

SAARC Headquarters:

  • On 8th December 1985, establishment of SAARC take place in Dhaka.
  • On 16th January 1987, secretariat of SAARC was founded in Kathmandu, Nepal.

Get Here: List of Cabinet Ministers of India

Names of SAARC Member States:

The names of SAARC 8 member states are as:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

Names of SAARC Observers:

Recently, there are nine observers to SAARC. The names are as:

  • Australia
  • China
  • The European Union
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • The Republic of Korea
  • Mauritius
  • Myanmar
  • The United States of America

Check Out: Global Democracy Index 2020

Main objectives to form SAARC:

These are the few main objectives that are the reason behind the forming of SAARC.

  • Improve quality of life of the people of South Asia.
  • To promote economic growth
  • For social progress and cultural development
  • To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries

Principal Organs of SAARC:

Meeting of Heads of State or Government: On yearly basis, meetings are to be held by the member heads of SAARC.

Standing Committee of Foreign Secretaries: The work of committee is to do monitoring, to do coordination, set up the primary priorities and approval of projects etc

Secretariat: The foundation of it was done on 16 January 1987, in Kathmandu. Secretary-general, seven directors, and services staff are included members of SAARC Secretariat. The main aim of development was to make a communication channel between the SAARC and other international organizations.

Know Here: What is the full form of NATO?

Secretaries-General of the SAARC:

Abul AhsanBangladesh
Kant Kishore BhargavaIndia
Ibrahim Hussein ZakiMaldives
Yadav Kant SilwalNepal
Naeem U. HasanPakistan
Nihal RodrigoSri Lanka
Q. A. M. A. RahimBangladesh
Chenkyab DorjiBhutan
Sheel Kant SharmaIndia
Fathimath Dhiyana SaeedMaldives
Ahmed SaleemMaldives
Arjun Bahadur ThapaNepal
Amjad Hussain B. SialPakistan
Esala Ruwan WeerakoonSri Lanka

SAARC Regional Centres:

  • SAARC Agriculture Centre (SAC), Dhaka
  • SAARC Energy Centre (SEC), Islamabad
  • SAARC Cultural Centre (SCC), Colombo, Sri Lanka
  • SAARC Tuberculosis and HIV/AIDS Centre (STAC), Kathmandu
  • SAARC Disaster Management Centre (SDMC), India

Know Here: What is the full form of the TRAI?

SAARC Achievements:

Free Trade Area (FTA): SAARC has established a Free Trade Area (FTA) that will helps in increasing the internal trade and on the other hand it will also help in lessen the trade gap of some states.

SAPTA: SAPTA means South Asia Preferential Trading Agreement that was established in 1995 to promote trade amongst the member countries.

SAFTA: This was formed to remove customs duties of all traded goods.

SAARC Agreement on Trade in Services (SATIS): This was formed for liberalization in trade services.

SAARC University: Apart from SAARC University, food bank is also there. Also, in Pakistan energy reserve is there.

Candidates must read this complete page of to gather details regarding SAARC such as SAARC Full Form, its headquarters, history, objectives, achievements etc. as it is helpful in gaining knowledge.

Something You Should Put An Eye On

NAAC Full FormNSDL Full Form
CSIR Full Form BCC Full Form
What is full form of NSSO?List of Financial Institutions in India
BCCI Full FormIRDA Full Form

Excel Your Preparation with Vidya24.Com - Enroll Today For Free

Filed in: Full Form

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© Recruitment result 2021. All rights reserved.