Public Holidays in India 2022 List of Gazetted/National Holiday-Calendar & Info

Public Holidays in India 2022

Holidays are important for everyone as it takes us away from the stresses and strains of everyday life. Being a cultural diverse country, there are many Public Holidays in India 2022. Here in this page, candidates can check out the list of Gazetted /National Holiday or can check the Public Holidays Calendar & Info from here.

recruitmentresult.com

Every year, Central government and State government prepare a list of Public Holidays in India in their respective government offices. This list is divided in two parts- Gazetted holidays and restricted holidays. Even the local administration issues a list of holidays known as local holidays which is observed at the district level.

Public Holidays in India

Indian Public Holidays:

  • India Public Holidays schedule is divided across three classifications: gazetted, restricted, as well as state and union territory
  • The three main holidays are Independence Day (the 15th of August), Republic Day (the 26th of January), and Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday (the 2nd of October).
  • Festivals of Hindus such as Maha Shivratri, Makar Sankranti, Janmashtami, Saraswati Puja, Diwali, Ganesh Chaturthi, Holi, Durga Puja, Dussehra
  • Festivals OF Sikhs such as Vaisakhi and Guru Nanak Jayanti;
  • Festivals of Islamic includes Eid ul-Fitr, Eid al-Adha, Milad un-Nabi, Muharram and
  • Christian festivals of Christmas.

List of Holidays in India in 2022:

Here is a list of all the Public and Government holidays in India in 2022:

Date Day Holiday States
1 Jan 2022 Saturday New Year’s Day Arunachal Pradesh, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana & Tamil Nadu
2 Jan 2022 Sunday New Year Holiday Mizoram
9 Jan 2022 Sunday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Chandigarh & Haryana
11 Jan 2022 Tuesday Missionary Day Mizoram
12 Jan 2022 Wednesday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
14 Jan 2022 Friday Makara Sankranti Gujarat, Karnataka, Sikkim & Telangana
14 Jan 2022 Friday Magh Bihu Assam
15 Jan 2022 Saturday Pongal Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
15 Jan 2022 Saturday Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu
16 Jan 2022 Sunday Kanuma Panduga Andhra Pradesh
16 Jan 2022 Sunday Uzhavar Thirunal Puducherry, & Tamil Nadu
23 Jan 2022 Sunday Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Jayanti Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
25 Jan 2022 Tuesday State Day Himachal Pradesh
26 Jan 2022 Wednesday Republic Day National
31 Jan 2022 Monday Me-Dum-Me-Phi Assam
2 Feb 2022 Wednesday Sonam Losar Sikkim
5 Feb 2022 Saturday Vasant Panchami Haryana, Odisha, Punjab, Tripura & West Bengal
15 Feb 2022 Tuesday Lui-Ngai-Ni Manipur
15 Feb 2022 Tuesday Hazrat Ali Jayanti Uttar Pradesh
16 Feb 2022 Wednesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Punjab
19 Feb 2022 Saturday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra
20 Feb 2022 Sunday State Day Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram
1 Mar 2022 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri National except Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Goa, Lakshadweep, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu & West Bengal
3 Mar 2022 Thursday Losar Sikkim
5 Mar 2022 Saturday Panchayatiraj Divas Odisha
18 Mar 2022 Friday Holi Delhi
18 Mar 2022 Friday Doljatra West Bengal
19 Mar 2022 Saturday Holi National except Delhi, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu & West Bengal
22 Mar 2022 Tuesday Bihar Day Bihar
23 Mar 2022 Wednesday S. Bhagat Singh’s Martyrdom Day Haryana
1 Apr 2022 Friday Odisha Day Odisha
2 Apr 2022 Saturday Telugu New Year Tamil Nadu
2 Apr 2022 Saturday Gudi Padwa Daman and Diu, DN & Maharashtra
4 Apr 2022 Monday Sarhul Jharkhand
5 Apr 2022 Tuesday Babu Jagjivan Ram Jayanti Andhra Pradesh & Telangana
10 Apr 2022 Sunday Ram Navami Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, DN, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
13 Apr 2022 Wednesday Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Rajasthan & Telangana
13 Apr 2022 Wednesday Bohag Bihu Holiday Assam
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti Chandigarh, CH, Daman and Diu, Delhi, DN, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu & Uttar Pradesh
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Vaisakh Jharkhand & Punjab
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti National except Andaman and Nicobar Islands, AR, Assam, CH, DN, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Lakshadweep, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry & Tripura
14 Apr 2022 Thursday TamilTamil New Year Tamil Nadu
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Vishu Kerala
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Maha Vishuba Sankranti Odisha
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh & Assam
14 Apr 2022 Thursday Cheiraoba Manipur
15 Apr 2022 Friday Good Friday National except Haryana & Jharkhand
15 Apr 2022 Friday Bengali New Year Tripura & West Bengal
15 Apr 2022 Friday Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh
16 Apr 2022 Saturday Easter Saturday Nagaland
17 Apr 2022 Sunday Easter Sunday Kerala & Nagaland
21 Apr 2022 Thursday Garia Puja Tripura
29 Apr 2022 Friday Shab-i-Qadr Jharkhand
29 Apr 2022 Friday Jumat-ul-Wida Jharkhand
1 May 2022 Sunday Maharashtra Day Maharashtra
1 May 2022 Sunday May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Puducherry, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Tripura & West Bengal
2 May 2022 Monday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh & Rajasthan
3 May 2022 Tuesday Idul Fitr National
3 May 2022 Tuesday Basava Jayanti Karnataka
4 May 2022 Wednesday Idul Fitr Holiday Telangana
9 May 2022 Monday Guru Rabindranath Jayanti Tripura & West Bengal
16 May 2022 Monday State Day Sikkim
16 May 2022 Monday Buddha Purnima Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Arunachal Pradesh, Chandigarh, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh, HaryanaR, Jharkhand, Jharkhand, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal
24 May 2022 Tuesday Kazi Nazrul Islam Jayanti Tripura
2 June 2022 Thursday Maharana Pratap Jayanti Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Rajasthan
3 June 2022 Friday Sri Guru Arjun Dev Ji’s Martyrdom Day Punjab
14 June 2022 Tuesday Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Chandigarh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana & Punjab
14 June 2022 Tuesday Pahili Raja Odisha
15 June 2022 Wednesday Raja Sankranti Odisha
15 June 2022 Wednesday YMA Day Mizoram
22 June 2022 Wednesday Kharchi Puja Tripura
30 June 2022 Thursday Remna Ni Mizoram
1 July 2022 Friday Ratha Yathra Odisha
5 July 2022 Tuesday Guru Hargobind Ji’s Birthday Jharkhand
6 July 2022 Wednesday MHIP Day Mizoram
10 July 2022 Sunday Bakrid / Eid al Adha National except Arunachal Pradesh, Daman and Diu, Puducherry & Sikkim
11 July 2022 Monday Bakrid / Eid al Adha Holiday Jharkhand
13 July 2022 Wednesday Martyrs’ Day Jharkhand
13 July 2022 Wednesday Bhanu Jayanti Sikkim
17 July 2022 Sunday U Tirot Sing Day Meghalaya
24 July 2022 Sunday Bonalu Telangana
31 July 2022 Sunday Haryali Teej Haryana
31 July 2022 Sunday Shaheed Udham Singh’s Martyrdom Day Haryana
8 Aug 2022 Monday Tendong Lho Rum Faat Sikkim
9 Aug 2022 Tuesday Muharram National except AR, Assam, DN, Daman and Diu, Goa, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Puducherry, Punjab, Sikkim, Uttarakhand & West Bengal
12 Aug 2022 Friday Raksha Bandhan Chandigarh, Daman and Diu, Gujarat, Haryana, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
12 Aug 2022 Friday Jhulan Purnima Odisha
13 Aug 2022 Saturday Patriots Day Manipur
15 Aug 2022 Monday Independence Day National
16 Aug 2022 Tuesday De Jure Transfer Day Puducherry
16 Aug 2022 Tuesday Parsi New Year Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Gujarat & Maharashtra
19 Aug 2022 Friday Janmashtami National except Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Lakshadweep, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Puducherry & West Bengal
28 Aug 2022 Sunday Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Punjab
29 Aug 2022 Monday Hartalika Teej Chandigarh & Sikkim
31 Aug 2022 Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi Andhra Pradesh, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Odisha, Puducherry, Telangana & Tamil Nadu
1 Sep 2022 Thursday Nuakhai Odisha
1 Sep 2022 Thursday Ganesh Chaturthi Holiday Goa
6 Sep 2022 Tuesday Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
6 Sep 2022 Tuesday Teja Dashmi Rajasthan
7 Sep 2022 Wednesday First Onam Kerala
8 Sep 2022 Thursday Thiruvonam Kerala
9 Sep 2022 Friday Indra Jatra Sikkim
10 Sep 2022 Saturday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
21 Sep 2022 Wednesday Sree Narayana Guru Samadhi Kerala
23 Sep 2022 Friday Heroes’ Martyrdom Day Haryana
25 Sep 2022 Sunday Mahalaya Amavasye Karnataka, Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
25 Sep 2022 Sunday First Day of Bathukamma Telangana
26 Sep 2022 Monday Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti Haryana
26 Sep 2022 Monday Ghatasthapana Rajasthan
28 Sep 2022 Wednesday S. Bhagat Singh Ji Jayanti Punjab
2 Oct 2022 Sunday Maha Saptami Odisha, Sikkim, Tripura & West Bengal
2 Oct 2022 Sunday Gandhi Jayanti National
3 Oct 2022 Monday Maha Ashtami Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Telangana, Tripura & West Bengal
4 Oct 2022 Tuesday Maha Navami Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Meghalaya,  Nagaland, Odisha, Puducherry, SK, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal
5 Oct 2022 Wednesday Vijaya Dashami National except DN, Manipur & Puducherry
9 Oct 2022 Sunday Lakshmi Puja Odisha, Tripura & West Bengal
9 Oct 2022 Sunday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti CH, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh & Punjab
9 Oct 2022 Sunday Eid e Milad National except Andaman and Nicobar Islands, AR, Assam, Bihar, CH, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Punjab, SK & West Bengal
14 Oct 2022 Friday Friday Following Eid e Milad Jharkhand
24 Oct 2022 Monday Diwali Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Telangana & Tamil Nadu
25 Oct 2022 Tuesday Diwali National except Andhra Pradesh, Delhi, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Puducherry, Tamil Nadu & Telangana
25 Oct 2022 Tuesday Vikram Samvat New Year Gujarat
26 Oct 2022 Wednesday Deepavali Holiday Daman and Diu, Haryana, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
27 Oct 2022 Thursday Bhai Dooj Gujarat, Rajasthan, SK, Uttarakhand & Uttar Pradesh
30 Oct 2022 Sunday Chhath Puja Bihar, Chandigarh & Jharkhand
31 Oct 2022 Monday Chhath Puja Holiday Bihar
31 Oct 2022 Monday Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Jayanti Gujarat
1 Nov 2022 Tuesday Kut Manipur
1 Nov 2022 Tuesday Puducherry Liberation Day Puducherry
1 Nov 2022 Tuesday Haryana Day Haryana
1 Nov 2022 Tuesday Kannada Rajyothsava Karnataka
8 Nov 2022 Tuesday Karthika Purnima Odisha & Telangana
8 Nov 2022 Tuesday Guru Nanak Jayanti National except Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, DN, Daman and Diu, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Odisha, Puducherry, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu & Tripura
15 Nov 2022 Tuesday Lhabab Duchen SK
22 Nov 2022 Tuesday Kanakadasa Jayanti Karnataka
23 Nov 2022 Wednesday Seng Kut Snem Meghalaya
28 Nov 2022 Monday Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji’s Martyrdom Day Punjab
1 Dec 2022 Thursday Indigenous Faith Day Arunachal Pradesh
3 Dec 2022 Saturday Feast of St Francis Xavier Goa
5 Dec 2022 Monday Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah Jayanti Jharkhand
12 Dec 2022 Monday Pa Togan Nengminza Sangma Meghalaya
18 Dec 2022 Sunday Death Anniversary of U SoSo Tham Meghalaya
18 Dec 2022 Sunday Guru Ghasidas Jayanti Chandigarh
19 Dec 2022 Monday Liberation Day Daman and Diu & Goa
24 Dec 2022 Saturday Christmas Holiday Meghalaya & Mizoram
25 Dec 2022 Sunday Christmas Day National
26 Dec 2022 Monday Shaheed Udham Singh Jayanti Haryana
26 Dec 2022 Monday Christmas Holiday Meghalaya, Mizoram & Telangana
29 Dec 2022 Thursday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Meghalaya & Haryana
30 Dec 2022 Friday U Kiang Nangbah Meghalaya
30 Dec 2022 Friday Tamu Losar Sikkim
31 Dec 2022 Saturday New Year’s Eve Manipur

Read Out: Latest Current Affairs Updates

Holiday Calendar in India- List of Gazetted/National Holiday

India is among the culturally diverse countries as there are different religions followed within India like Hinduism, Islam & Christianity. Due to this, the federal and state governments have acknowledged a number of holidays

We, the members of recruitmentresult.com have brought you the list of Gazetted/National Holiday and Public Holidays in India together with the 2022 Holiday Calendar India. Take a look at the list of Public Holidays in India 2022 from this page.

Popular Festival Holidays in India 2022

Day Date Holiday
Friday Jan 14, 2022 Makarsankranti / Pongal
Tuesday Jan 18, 2022 Thaipusam
Saturday Feb 05, 2022 Vasant Panchami
Tuesday Mar 01, 2022 Maha Shivaratri
Thursday Mar 17, 2022 Holika Dahan
Friday Mar 18, 2022 Holi
Tuesday Mar 22, 2022 Hindi New Year
Saturday Aprl 02, 2022 Ugadi / Gudi Padwa / Telugu New Year
Sunday Apr 10, 2022 Hanuman Jayanti
Sunday Apr 10, 2022 Ramanavami
Thursday Apr 14, 2022 Vaisakhi / Baisakhi / Vishu
Thursday Apr 14, 2022 Tamil New Year
Friday Apr 15, 2022 Bengali New Year / Bihu
Tuesday May 03, 2022 Akshaya Tritiya
Monday May 30, 2022 Savitri Pooja
Friday July 01, 2022 Puri Rath Yatra
Wednesday July 13, 2022 Guru Purnima
Tuesday Aug 02, 2022 Nag Panchami
Thursday Aug 11, 2022 Raksha Bandhan
Friday Aug 12, 2022 Varalakshmi Vrat
Friday Aug 19, 2022 Krishna Janmashtami
Wednesday Aug31, 2022 Ganesh Chaturthi
Thursday Sep 08, 2022 Onam
Saturday Sep 17, 2022 Vishwakarma Puja
Sunday Sep25, 2022 Mahalaya Amavasya
Monday Sep 26, 2022 Navaratri begins
Tuesday Oct 04, 2022 Navaratri ends / Maha Navami
Wednesday Oct 05, 2022 Dusshera
Sunday Oct 09, 2022 Sharad Purnima
Thursday Oct 13, 2022 Karwa Chauth
Saturday Oct 22, 2022 Dhan Teras
Monday Oct 24, 2022 Diwali
Wednesday Oct 26, 2022 Bhai Dooj
Sunday Oct 30, 2022 Chhath Puja
Tuesday Nov 08, 2022 Kartik Poornima
Saturday Dec 03, 2022 Geeta Jayanti
Friday Dec 16, 2022 Dhanu Sankranti

Bank Holidays in India 2022:

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan 2022 Saturday New Year’s Day
14 Jan 2022 Friday Makara Sankranti
26 Jan 2022 Wednesday Republic Day
5 Feb 2022 Saturday Vasant Panchami
1 Mar 2022 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri
19 Mar 2022 Saturday Holi
10 Apr 2022 Sunday Ram Navami
13 Apr 2022 Wednesday Ugadi
14 Apr2022 Thursday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti
15 Apr 2022 Friday Good Friday
1 May 2022 Sunday May Day
2 May 2022 Monday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti
3 May 2022 Tuesday Idul Fitr
16 May 2022 Monday Buddha Purnima
14 June 2022 Tuesday Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti
10 July 2022 Sunday Bakrid / Eid al Adha
9 Aug 2022 Tuesday Muharram
12 Aug 2022 Friday Raksha Bandhan
15 Aug 2022 Monday Independence Day
16 Aug 2022 Tuesday Parsi New Year
19 Aug 2022 Friday Janmashtami
31 Aug 2022 Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi
25 Sep 2022 Sunday Mahalaya Amavasye
2 Oct 2022 Sunday Gandhi Jayanti
3 Oct 2022 Monday Maha Ashtami
4 Oct 2022 Tuesday Maha Navami
5 Oct 2022 Wednesday Vijaya Dashami
9 Oct2022 Sunday Eid e Milad
24 Oct 2022 Monday Diwali
25 Oct 2022 Tuesday Diwali
26 Oct 2022 Wednesday Deepavali Holiday
27 Oct 2022 Thursday Bhai Dooj
08 Nov 2022 Tuesday Guru Nanak Jayanti
25 Dec 2022 Sunday Christmas Day

Get Here: List of Important Days

Indian Calendar 2022 – Festivals:

Do You Know Holidays Declared As Gazetted  Holidays In States (Other Than Delhi)?

1 An additional Day for Dussehra
2 Holi
3 Janamashtami (Vaishnavi)
4 Ram Navami
5 Maha Shivratri
6 Ganesh Chaturthi / Vinayak Chaturthi
7 Makar Sankaranti
8 Rath Yatra
9 Onam
10 Pongal
11 Sri Panchami / Basanta Panchami
12 Vishu / Vaisakhi / Vaisakhadi / Bhag Bihu / Mashadi Ugadi / Chaitra Sakladi / Cheti Chand / Gudi Pada 1st Navratra / Nauraj / Chhath Pooja / Karva Chauth

Check Now: Person In News Current Affairs

Public Holidays in India 2022 for all the Sectors:

As per the India Public Holidays schedule, there are gazetted, restricted, as well as state and union territory holidays. Gazetted holidays are mandatory, restricted holidays are optional, and state and union territory holidays are local. Many companies in India provide leave to the employees on the gazetted holidays and provide restricted holidays of the employees choosing. Usually all the Public Holidays in India gets decided as per the Indian Holiday Calendar 2022

Final Note

We hope that above information about the Public Holidays in India 2022 has been useful to you all. Stay connected with us on this page to get more news and updates.

Something That You Should Put An Eye On

Important Days in July Important Days in June
List of Important Days in 2022 International Current Affairs
All Defence Current Affairs Public Holidays in India
Current Affairs New Appointments Latest Current Affairs

Filed in: Articles, Current Affairs 2023 Tags: 

Leave a Reply

Submit Comment

© Recruitment result 2012-2022. All rights reserved.

Menu
Recruitment Result 2023