Latest Qualification Jobs

Check Your Email To Activate the Confirmation Link


List of Chief Ministers in India – All States, Capitals Current Indian CM

List of Chief Ministers in India

Chief Minister is the real ruler of the State and his role, status and position is very high in India. List of Chief Ministers in India includes Yogi Adityanath, N. Chandrababu Naidu, Pema Khandu, Sarbananda Sonowal, Nitish Kumar, Raman Singh and Arvind Kejriwal from Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh and Delhi. Chief Minister is the head of the Government. Ministers are appointed on the advice of the Chief Minister. Chief Minister is in the state what the Prime Minister is at the centre. It also acts as the leader of the legislature. By maintaining control over the legislative majority, he controls the legislature. Chief Minister acts as a head of government of each of twenty-nine states and two union territories. Subsequent to every general election, Governor appoints the leader of the majority party in the State Assembly or as is often the case, the leader of a combination of parties forming a coalition, the Chief Minister of the state. Chief Minister enjoys various powers and is responsible for managing all affairs concerning to state. He is also having power to ease a minister out of office. Even, he may advice the Governor to drop a minister. We are listing List of Chief Ministers in India of all States and Capitals of India. Current Indian CM presides over the meetings of the State Cabinet.

Constitution of India makes the Council of Minister together with the Chief Minister collectively responsible to the Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) of the State. He acts as a leader of the majority group. Through his control over the legislative majority, he controls the legislature too. Once the vote to Legislative Assembly is over the task of making the government get initiated, the party with the majority in the Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) is permitted to form the government. We, the team of are cataloging List of Chief Ministers in India, Current Indian CM on below of this page.

List of Chief Ministers in India

StateName of Chief MinisterParty
Andhra PradeshN. Chandrababu NaiduTelugu Desam Party
Arunachal PradeshPema KhanduBharatiya Janata Party
AssamSarbananda Sonowal
BiharNitish KumarJanata Dal (United)
ChhattisgarhRaman SinghBharatiya Janata Party
DelhiArvind KejriwalAam Aadmi Party
GoaManohar ParrikarBharatiya Janata Party
GujaratVijay Rupani
HaryanaManohar Lal Khattar
Himachal PradeshVirbhadra SinghIndian National Congress
Jammu and KashmirMehbooba MuftiJammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party
JharkhandRaghubar DasBharatiya Janata Party
KarnatakaSiddaramaiahIndian National Congress
KeralaPinarayi VijayanCommunist Party of India (Marxist)
Madhya PradeshShivraj Singh ChouhanBharatiya Janata Party
MaharashtraDevendra Fadnavis
ManipurN. Biren Singh
MeghalayaMukul SangmaIndian National Congress
MizoramLal Thanhawla
NagalandT. R. ZeliangNaga People’s Front
OdishaNaveen PatnaikBiju Janata Dal
PuducherryV. NarayanasamyIndian National Congress
PunjabAmarinder Singh
RajasthanVasundhara RajeBharatiya Janata Part
SikkimPawan Kumar ChamlingSikkim Democratic Front
Tamil NaduEdappadi K. PalaniswamiAll India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
TelanganaK. Chandrashekar RaoTelangana Rashtra Samithi
TripuraManik SarkarCommunist Party of India (Marxist)
Uttar PradeshYogi AdityanathBharatiya Janata Party
UttarakhandTrivendra Singh RawatBharatiya Janata Party
West BengalMamata BanerjeeAll India Trinamool Congress

Check Here: List of Prime Ministers of India

Who appoints Chief Minister in India?

As per the Constitution, the Chief Minister is appointed by the Governor of India. After elections to the state legislative assembly, Governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government. Remember, it does not mean Governor is free in the appointment of the Chief Minister. Governor has no real alternative open to him because after general election to the State Legislative Assembly, the party or coalition group which secures majority in this House elects its leader and converse his name to the Governor.

What is the Tenure of Chief Minister in India?

Tenure of the CM of India is maximum for five years. The Chief Minister remains in place of work so far he is sustained by the majority of the members of the Legislative Assembly. The CM gives notice (resigns) when the majority in Legislative Assembly goes against him.

What are the Powers and function of Chief Minister?

  • Formation of the Council of Ministers:

Chief Minister is having power of forming a ministry of his choice. As per Constitution, he is having freedom to choose his ministers. He is responsible for appointing any member or even a non-member as a minister and allocates him any portfolio.

  • Distribution and Change of Portfolios (Departments) among the Ministers:

Subsequent to appointment of ministers, the next chief function of the Chief Minister is the distribution of portfolios among them. He is responsible for deciding who will be a Cabinet Minister or a Minister of State. He is accountable for allocating departments to ministers. Besides this, he is also liable for changing the department of any minister. Even ministers keep CM informed about the working of their departments.

You Can Also Check: List of Indian Presidents

  • Chairman of the Council of Ministers:

Chief Minister supervises over the meetings of the Cabinet. He is allotted with duty of deciding agenda of its meetings. Thereafter, he communicates it to the ministers and then presides over these. So, he is having utmost importance in State.

  • Removal of Ministers:

The ministers remain in place of work all through the pleasure of Chief Minister. The administrator cannot eliminate ask any minister to give notice if he is not happy with his work. He can make an accusation in his Council of Ministries whenever he likes.

  • Role as Leader of the State Legislative Assembly:

Chief Minister is one of the premier leaders not only of his party but also of the Legislative Assembly. He is responsible for leading House in the right direction. Besides this, he also acts as a spokesman of the government and responsible for making crucial announcements of his government.

  • Chairman of the cabinet:

The director cannot take part in the conference of cabinet. The CM calls the conference of the Cabinet and presides over its meeting. He also organized and controls the agenda for cabinet assembly. The Cabinet takes its judgment unanimously and normally the views of the Chief Minister carry weight.

Must Check: Cabinet Ministers of India

  • Leadership in the cabinet in the Legislative:

CM can attend the conference of both the Houses and can take part in their working. The members of administration ask questions to cabinet members and criticize their policies and actions. When a minister cannot give agreeable reply to criticism of a member, Chief Minister assists the minister in fulfilling the member. The significant resolution taken by Cabinet is publicized in the Legislative by CM.

Hope, you get all List of Chief Ministers in India. Bookmark this page by pressing Ctrl+D to know more about it.

Something That You Should Put An Eye On

List Of Current Governors Of IndiaCurrent Members of Parliament of India
Latest President of IndiaList of Vice Presidents of India
Prime Minister Of India ListVice President of India

Filed in: Articles, Current Affairs, Latest GK Tags: 

Upload Resume & Get Interview Call In 24 Hours


Leave a Reply

Submit Comment